Page start

Left navigation:

The Collection

Permanent exhibition

The collection is the heart and the soul of our museum. The basic idea underpinning this presentation of the museum’s collection is restoring the chronological sequence of works, which will allow visitors to get to know the most important movements and styles of art history from the 19th century to the present in the original. In addition to this, we are putting the focus on artists who have a special relationship with Linz and the LENTOS, such as VALIE EXPORT and Herbert Bayer. Art history is anything but static: the Canon is being rewritten all the time, a process that frequently leads to reassessments and rediscoveries. In this way, the museum serves as a tool for experiencing art history and for understanding it and paves the way for special exhibitions primarily dedicated to the art of our times. The re-arrangement of the collection was effected step by step in 2018 by the director of the museum, Hemma Schmutz, in close collaboration with her team.

The emphasis in the individual rooms of the collection is on 19th century portrait and landscape painting, Secessionism, Expressionism, New Objectivity, Informalism, Actionism and contemporary positions.

The exhibition features works by such artists as Herbert Bayer, VALIE EXPORT, Gustav Klimt, Oskar Kokoschka, Maria Lassnig, Gabriele Münter, Egon Schiele, Andy Warhol and Heimo Zobernig.

Mediaguide


The new Mediaguide accompanies the visitors through the collection presentation. The virtual guide gives a deeper insight into the special features of the LENTOS collection in audiobook quality in German and English. The Guide involves approximately 65 works  by artists such as Herbert Bayer, VALIE EXPORT, Gustav Klimt, Oskar Kokoschka, Maria Lassnig, Gabriele Münter, Egon Schiele, Andy Warhol, Heimo Zobernig and many others.

Mediaguide on the iTunes App Store and Google Play Store
The LENTOS Mediaguide is available as a free download from the iTunes App Store and the Google Play Store.

Mediaguide on site
For exhibition visitors without mobile devices, smartphones are available on site, on which the new Mediaguide is already preinstalled. The devices can be borrowed for a fee of € 2 at the cash desk.

Guided Tours

PUBLIC GUIDED TOUR
Duration 1 hour, costs € 3, exclusive admission, German only

Every Thursday, 7 pm
Combined tour through the exhibitions The Collection and the current special exhibition in the basement
German only


PUBLIC GUIDED TOURS IN ENGLISH
Every 1st Saturday in a Month at 4 pm
Jump in for an Art Tour!
No prior booking required, Duration 30 Min., € 2, no admission fee

GUIDED TOURS FOR GROUPS
Here you will find all of our tours can be booked.
Advance registration for guided group tours by telephone: Teleservice Center der Stadt Linz +43 732 7070 or by email to info@mag.linz.at

background image:

Foto: maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Die Sammlung

Sammlungspräsentation

Die Sammlung ist das Herzstück und die Seele unseres Museums. Grundgedanke der Präsentation ist eine chronologische Abfolge, die es ermöglicht, die wichtigsten Bewegungen und Stile der Kunstgeschichte vom 19. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart im Original kennen zu lernen. Zusätzlich legen wir den Fokus auf KünstlerInnen, die eine besondere Beziehung zu Linz und zum LENTOS haben, wie VALIE EXPORT und Herbert Bayer. Kunstgeschichte ist nichts Statisches, im Gegenteil, der Kanon wird immer wieder neu geschrieben und so kommt es laufend zu Neubewertungen und Wiederentdeckungen. So wird das Museum zum Instrument für das Erleben und Verstehen der Kunstgeschichte und führt hin zu den Wechselausstellungen, die sich vorwiegend der aktuellen Kunst widmen. Die Neuaufstellung der Sammlung wurde 2018 schrittweise von Museumsdirektorin Hemma Schmutz gemeinsam mit ihrem Team vorgenommen.

Schwerpunkte der einzelnen Sammlungsräume liegen auf Portrait und Landschaftsmalerei des 19. Jahrhunderts, Secessionismus, Expressionismus, Neuer Sachlichkeit, Informel, Aktionismus sowie zeitgenössischen Positionen.

Präsentiert werden Werke von Herbert Bayer, VALIE EXPORT, Gustav Klimt, Oskar Kokoschka, Maria Lassnig, Gabriele Münter, Egon Schiele, Andy Warhol, Heimo Zobernig und vielen anderen.

Mediaguide



Der neue Mediaguide begleitet die BesucherInnen durch die Sammlungspräsentation. Der virtuelle Guide gibt in Hörbuchqualität in deutscher und englischer Sprache einen tieferen Einblick in die Besonderheiten der LENTOS Sammlung. Die diskutierten rund 65 Arbeiten stammen von KünstlerInnen wie Herbert Bayer, VALIE EXPORT, Gustav Klimt, Oskar Kokoschka, Maria Lassnig, Gabriele Münter, Egon Schiele, Andy Warhol sowie Heimo Zobernig und vielen anderen.

Mediaguide im iTunes App Store und im Google Play Store
Der LENTOS Mediaguide ist als Gratis-Download im iTunes App Store und im Google Play Store erhältlich.  

Mediaguide vor Ort
Für Ausstellungsbesucherinnen ohne mobile Geräte stehen vor Ort Smartphones zur Verfügung, auf denen der neue Mediaguide bereits vorinstalliert ist. Die Geräte können gegen eine Gebühr von € 2 an der Kassa ausgeliehen werden.

background image:

Foto: maschekS.