Page start

Content

Linz.changes.

Why not take a closer look at Linz, European Capital of Culture 2009, an attractive, modern city, in which industry, economy, culture and nature blend to produce a unique quality of life? „Linz.verändert,“ [Say Linz, say change], the city’s slogan, invites you to become part of its thriving art and culture scene. Come here with an open mind and your high expectations won’t be disappointed.

What you should take care not to miss while in Linz:

The city’s multifaceted museum landscape

In addition to the LENTOS, Linz features a whole array of museums and exhibition venues, including above all the Stadtmuseum NORDICO, the Ars Electronica Center, the Upper Austrian State Museum with the State Gallery and the Castle Museum, and the OK Offenes Kulturhaus.

Hauptplatz [Main Square] and Landstraße

The Main Square, Europe’s largest “Saalplatz”, with its baroque facades, is a sight in its own right and an ideal point of departure for tours of the old parts of the city. The square segues into Landstraße, which is second only to Vienna’s Mariahilfer Straße as Austria’s busiest shopping mile.

Linzer Torte

Linzer Torte is the city’s ambassador to spread the news of sweetness. The first recipe dates from 1653, which makes it the world’s oldest cake recipe.

Pixel Hotel

The Pixel Hotel is at the same time an art project and an unconventional hotel. Its individual rooms and suites are dispersed all over the city. One of its rooms is located in what used to be a shop,  another in a former backyard workshop, another onboard a boat – of all places.

Special bargains for your stay

Linz, Card

The Linz, Card – the visitors’ pass for the entire city – helps you tailor your stay to your individual needs and preferences. Valid for one or three days, the Linz, Card includes free admission to all public museums, free public transport rides on vehicles of the Linz Linien and concessionary rates for a number of other services.

1-day pass € 18.00  //  3-day pass € 30.00
Reduced 1-day pass € 15 // Reduced 3-day pass € 25
(not available to groups)
 

The Linz, Card is on sale at the LENTOS ticket desk, in most other museums, at the Tourist Information in the Hauptplatz and in many of the city’s hotels.

Linz Weekend

3 days / 2 nights in a 3- or 4-star hotel incl. breakfast and Linz, Card
From € 109.00

For more details go to the homepage of the Tourismusverband [Tourist Organisation] Linz: http://www.linztourismus.at/en/

Linz is awarded the title “UNESCO City of Media Arts”

In December 2014 Linz became part of the international UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) as a City of Media Arts, one of the networks seven categories. This has given Linz a place in a worldwide group of especially innovative localities. The fact that it is now a member of the UCCN allows the city, its inhabitants and its creative industries to benefit from the synergy effects of a global network.

Created in 2004, UCCN brings together 69 cities from 32 countries that have identified creativity as a strategic factor for sustainable urban development. The network is designed to facilitate the development of existing potentials, to foster the local and international development of cultural products, to create additional jobs and to boost the cities’ social and economic development. Seven other cities have been admitted to the category UNESCO City of Media Arts: Lyon (France), Enghien-les-Bains (France), Sapporo (Japan), Dakar (Senegal), Gwangju (South Korea), Tel Aviv-Yafo (Israel) and York (United Kingdom).

Its pioneering role in the field of digital media art and its identification of creativity as an important factor in sustainable urban development have given Linz a great deal of know-how and practical experience over many years that it is now able to share with its partner cities. The network will in turn help Linz to hone its profile as one Europe’s centres of creativity, so giving itself a great advantage in international competition between cities and regions. The capital of Upper Austria has played a pioneering role in the development of media art and digital media competence since 1979. Currently its efforts in this area are focussed on the transformation of the Tabakwerke precinct in Linz into a hotspot for the benefit of Upper Austria’s creative industries.

For details go to www.cityofmediaarts.at.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

© Tourismusverband Linz

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:

Linz.verändert,

Lernen Sie Linz, die Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2009, näher kennen! Eine moderne und attraktive Stadt, in der das Zusammenwirken von Industrie und Wirtschaft, Kultur und Natur zu besonderer Lebensqualität führt. „Linz.verändert,“ lautet der Slogan der Stadt. Lassen Sie sich auf die Auseinandersetzung mit Linz ein, treten Sie der regen Kunst- und Kulturszene mit Aufgeschlossenheit und Offenheit entgegen.

Was Sie in Linz nicht verpassen sollten:

Vielfältige Museumslandschaft

Neben dem LENTOS bietet Linz ein umfangreiches und vielfältiges Museums- und Ausstellungsangebot. Dazu zählen insbesondere das Stadtmuseum NORDICO, das Ars Electronica Center, die OÖ Landesmuseen mit Landesgalerie und Schlossmuseum sowie das OK Offenes Kulturhaus.

Hauptplatz und Landstraße

Der größte Saalplatz Europas ist mit seinen barocken Fassaden eine Sehenswürdigkeit für alle BesucherInnen und ein idealer Ausgangspunkt vieler Erkundungstouren. Zum Beispiel auf die Landstraße, der neben der Wiener Mariahilfer Straße wichtigsten Einkaufsmeile Österreichs.

Linzer Torte

Die süße Botschafterin der Stadt. Das erste Rezept stammt aus dem Jahr 1653 und ist damit das älteste Tortenrezept der Welt.

Spezielle Angebote für Ihren Aufenthalt

Linz, Card

Die Linz, Card – das BesucherInnenticket für die ganze Stadt – gibt Ihnen die Möglichkeit Ihren Aufenthalt individuell und unabhängig zu gestalten! Als Tageskarte oder 3-Tageskarte beinhaltet die Linz, Card neben dem Eintritt in alle öffentlichen Museen eine Freifahrt mit den Verkehrsmitteln der Linz Linien sowie zahlreiche Ermäßigungen auf weitere Angebote und Leistungen.

Tageskarte € 18  //  3-Tageskarte € 30
Tageskarte ermäßigt € 15 // 3-Tageskarte ermäßigt € 25
(Nicht für Gruppen möglich)

Die Linz, Card erhalten Sie an der Kasse des LENTOS, bei der Tourist Information am Hauptplatz sowie bei zahlreichen weiteren Museen und Hotels.

Linz Wochenende

3 Tage / 2 Übernachtungen im 3- oder 4-Sterne Hotel inkl. Frühstück und Linz, Card
Ab € 109

Sämtliche Details finden Sie unter http://www.linztourismus.at/


Linz ist UNESCO City of Media Arts

Mit Dezember 2014 wurde Linz in das internationale Netzwerk der UNESCO „Creative Cities“ (UCCN) in der Kategorie „City of Media Arts“ aufgenommen. Damit zählt die Stadt nun zu den besonders zukunftsorientierten Orten und Metropolen weltweit und ist nun Mitglied im UNESCO-Netzwerk der kreativen Städte, das zahlreiche Synergieeffekte für die Stadt, ihre BewohnerInnen und für die Kreativwirtschaft mit sich bringen wird.

Seit 2004 können sich Städte aus aller Welt um die Aufnahme für eine von sieben Kategorien des Creative Cities Network der UNESCO bewerben. 69 Städte weltweit gehören diesem Netzwerk derzeit an. Es soll die Entwicklung vorhandener Potenziale erleichtern, die heimische und internationale Entwicklung von kulturellen Erzeugnissen begünstigen, zusätzliche Arbeitsplätze schaffen und die gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung der Stadt fördern. Neben Linz gibt es weitere sieben Städte, die den Titel „UNESCO City of Media Arts“ tragen: Lyon (Frankreich), Enghien-les-Bains (Frankreich), Sapporo (Japan), Dakar (Senegal), Gwangju (Südkorea), Tel Aviv-Yafo (Israel) und York (Großbritannien).

Dank ihrer Pionierrolle im Bereich der digitalen Medienkunst und einer kulturell orientierten Stadtentwicklung kann Linz viel Know-how und langjährige Erfahrung in das Netzwerk einbringen und sich noch stärker als ein „kreatives Zentrum Europas" gezielt im internationalen Wettbewerb der Städte und Regionen profilieren. Seit 1979 hat sich die oberösterreichische Landeshauptstadt zum Wegbereiter und internationalen Knotenpunkt von Medienkunst und digitaler Medienkompetenz entwickelt. Aktuell konzentriert sie sich auf die Transformation der innerstädtischen ehemaligen Tabakfabrik zu einem Zentrum der Kreativwirtschaft in Oberösterreich.

Details auf www.cityofmediaarts.at.

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

© Tourismusverband Linz